My Linden Homes Odyssey, part 1

I debated and debated with myself for weeks before deciding to get a Linden Home. It seemed appropriate to get a home in SL after participating for a while, and I really wanted someplace stable to park a few things and set up photography for my blog.

I knew what I wanted…some living space and some place for the photo studio. Hopefully some privacy to change clothes, and not just one big open room.

There are currently four themed communities with Linden Homes: a suburban community (Meadowbrook), a fantasy theme (Elderglen), a rustic A-Frame home area (Tahoe), and a Japanese-themed neighborhood (Shareta Osumai). Looking over my choices, I ruled out Elderglen at once. The houses seemed very small and full of fantasy-type architectural features (nothing at all against that, but it just wasn’t my choice). For some reason, Meadowbrook was only showing two available models, both one story…even though there were lots of two story models on the sim (availability at the time?).

I wasn’t sure I’d like the more rustic Tahoe or the Japanese homes, so my first attempt was with the L-shaped one story Meadowbrook home Quad. Upon entering the home, I realized that the one large room really wasn’t what I wanted. So I abandoned the home and tried again. This time the only Meadowbrook home available was Loftroom, with the second room slightly elevated and two pools. The pools seemed like a waste of prims and space to me, and I really wanted more usable space, so I abandoned this home and tried again.

The next time, since there was nothing other than what I’d already tried in Meadowbrook, I focused on the Tahoe selections. The houses all seemed alike, so I picked the one with the color scheme I liked the best (Willow). I got into the house and realized it was one room, with a very high ceiling. I wondered if I could build a loft. And I realized…the Meadowbrook homes had more features, like track lighting and window blinds. With all the windows in the A-Frame styles I’d have to do something about privacy. And I didn’t like the fireplace, which was more like a cheap wood stove.

I found a low-prim loft for a good price on XLStreet, and proceeded to unpack it in the home. Oops…wrong size (found out later on it was made for Cedar, which had different dimensions). Difficult to re-size something that large inside a home, too.

Finally I just gave up. I always had doubts that the Tahoe lifestyle was going to be for me…just too rustic. I abandoned this home and tried again.

This time there was nothing left in Meadowbrook; it didn’t even come up in the selections. Since I’d already ruled out the fantasy homes in Elderglen, that left the Japanese houses in Shareta Osumai. Like the A-frame styles they all appeared to be single rooms. Perhaps, I reasoned, the ceilings would be high enough for a loft. Upon entering my new House of Kaze model, I realized one really big issue: no windows. And I really didn’t like the tatami mat floors. Oops…this one was out.

On my fifth attempt, Meadowbrook was still missing from the selections. I’d re-read the info about the loft I’d purchased and decided to try the model it was designed for, Cedar. The fireplace was more to my taste, and the loft did fit, but I still didn’t really like the A-Frame style…and it bothered me that Linden was putting things like lights into homes in Meadobrook, but not other neighborhoods.

This time, I determined that I would wait to get another Linden Home till there was one available in Meadowbrook (or a similar neighborhood) with two stories, multiple rooms, nice fireplace, etc. When I tried again a few days later, wow, Meadowbrook was back in the selection list, and this time, there were 3 or 4 styles that fit what I wanted.

So…it took a while, but I have found the home I wanted…it’s a Grayson model. And, even better, it is located two rows away from the ocean, and on the other side, a row away from the hillside. I’ve converted the pool to a garden and planted some one-prim flower bushes. The first photo studio I rezed fit with space to spare in the large area of the second floor. And now I’m working on finding the right low prim furnishings for my space.

The ocean view from my balcony.


Converted the pool into a garden; then added one prim floral bushes.


The lounge chair I bought as part of the set yesterday is stll more prims than I'd like, but I have to relax sometime!

Leave a Reply

