April Showers bring…drama?

April, the month of showers, turned out to be a month of storms in the SL world.

Between the ongoing debate over the 2.0 SL client, Linden Labs’ announcement about viewer compliance, and the massive grid/SL website outage on Wednesday night and Thursday of this last week, there was a lot going on that affected many of us across the grid.

There has also been a fair amount of drama affecting the SL fashion blogger world this month.

Early in April, there was an appeal throughout the SL blogverse to give pose makers credit in posts. I admit I am guilty of not always crediting pose makers. Often, I reuse the same poses numerous times, and I tend to not mention the poses if they’re not new to me. I’ll try to do better about crediting the pose makers; like all content creators, I understand that being credited for their work is important to them. Funny thing…I see lots of other bloggers who just like me are suddenly crediting pose makers every time, even though most of us were silent while this was hitting the fan. So maybe others are simply convicted, like I was, to give credit where credit is due.

Mid month, a vendor participant in a high profile hunt pulled out right as the hunt started. I still don’t know what really happened, but there did appear to be a lot of drama behind the scenes.

Mid-month also brought a discussion throughout the SL blogverse about whether or not fashion bloggers were “copying” one another by posting on the same promotional items (and whether or not it is important to give credit to the source where one finds out about an item). Often I do forget to cite a source when blogging about an item; sometimes its simply hearing about it through multiple sources (blogs, in world groups where designers post directly, etc.). Sometimes I stumble upon an item when I go someplace in world, and whereas other items there have been blogged about, this one has not.

My personal opinion is that the fashion item/items are only one element of a post (other elements being the photography and the writing). Therefore, most bloggers are bringing something unique to their posts, even if multiple bloggers are posting about the same item. However, as a means of bringing unique value to my readers, I’m personally going to try hard to blog about items that others aren’t blogging about. This week I featured two sets of dresses that I haven’t seen blogged about elsewhere – the Pixel Dolls freebie set from the Urban Shopper 3rd Birthday Celebration and the post that featured two recent Weatherby’s freebies and the Impossible Lena dress from the Urban Shopper 3rd Birthday Celebration.

I’ve also come to the realization (duh!) that as an individual blogger, I simply can’t try to keep up with the volume of posts that multiple blogger sites generate on a daily/weekly basis. On my own, I simply am not going to post as many timely posts as those sites do. So I’m not going to stress about this and just focus on enjoying posting to the blog. It’s a little easier on the 117Prims site, because many of the posts there are not about limited time promotions. I’ve actually got a number of upcoming posts saved as drafts over at 117Prims, to help keep new content flowing in when life’s demands take me elsewhere.

And the month drew to a close with a bang, when a blogger made some snarky comments about the quality of merchandise offered for a weekly promotion, and another blogger, offended by said comments, posted a commentary on their own site. Que blogverse drama as defenders and accusers of the original blogger traded commentary and insults back and forth.

My two cents on the incident and aftermath is this – a blogger has the freedom to say what they wish (that’s something I’ll defend any day), but they also need to understand and accept that there may be consequences if their post offends a lot of people. And if a blogger’s post offends a number of people, maybe it’s a good idea to thoughtfully reflect on what one has blogged about and the style/content of their post.

Honest, thoughtful critique is something that can benefit even those criticized. Deliberate snarkiness is something entirely different.

Yes, snark can be a source of great humor, and getting lots of attention can be a real high, but it’s more important…IMO…to stay true to our own values in the long run. And if our own values include the Golden Rule, then respect for others is far more important then getting raves for how clever we are.

Here’s hoping that May = less drama and more fun!

Leave a Reply

