Black and Blue…

When I heard that there was going to be a fashion event coming up in Second Life with the theme of raising awareness about mental health issues, I really wanted to get on the bandwagon and help publicize it. It’s very appropriate that this is my first opportunity as a blogger to publicize an event prior to launch.

Raising awareness about mental illness is an issue very near and dear to my heart. I have been challenged with mood and anxiety disorders for most of my life and my dear husband struggles with a mood disorder as well. Our older daughter was diagnosed with early-onset bipolar disorder (after being misdiagnosed with ADHD). I am so thankful that her condition was recognized several years ago when many doctors did not understand that bipolar in children manifests differently than in adults. Today she is a stable college student, looking forward to a future that when she was twelve we doubted she could ever have.

Recently, our younger daughter, who is now 17, came forward to let us know that she has an eating disorder.  A concerned youth leader at our church recognized from her own experience the danger signs and and helped my daughter recognize the seriousness of her situation. We’ve just begun what could be a long road to restoration of health for my younger daughter, but I’m trilled to say that she’s responding well to treatment.

Over the years I have learned much about mental heath conditions. Previously, I didn’t realize that “mental” illness was really physical illness with mood and behavioral symptoms. I wasn’t alone in my assumptions…and even today, with much research and evidence to show that it’s not “all in our heads” many people still have serious misconceptions about mental illness. Those misconceptions can prevent many people from seeking out treatment that could save their lives.

The Black and Blue Fair opens on June 4th. You can find more information at: http://www.trashfashblog.com/. One really neat thing about this event is in addition to regular priced items, there is a whole section of $10L and less items. Most of the items in this picture are from that section.

Items from fair: Adam n Eve Catwalk Collection Leather Jacket in Black, My Mojo Scarf, Dischevelled Heart Hair and Skin, Aleocol Black and Blue Fair Cheapie Leggings. Not from Fair: Mielle Sculpeted Shoe in Black and EB Prims and Poses Pose.

Leave a Reply

